Memories of Grandma F.

19 Nov

With Grandma 1976Just thinking back on memories as a kid with my Grandma who passed away about 8 years ago…

Though I don’t remember any specific birthday or Christmas present she gave me, I remember playing Chinese Checkers, Pick Up Sticks and badminton.  I love how she would say ‘worsh’ instead of wash, or ‘rastle’ instead of wrestle.   Or her funny sayings… ‘man alive!’  We would walk down to the Thrifty’s and she would get me an ice cream cone.  She always put her turn signal on even going into her driveway and there was nobody behind us.

Do you ever wish you could know someone better at a later time in your life?  I think it would be fun to make Christmas cookies with her now.  I’d likeChristmas 1974 to talk to her more about her childhood.  I’d love for her to teach me first hand how she made her awesome meatloaf.

I guess I will have to just cherish the time I DID have with her.

4 Responses to “Memories of Grandma F.”

  1. Mom November 23, 2006 at 10:31 am #

    Wow reading your story about your Grandma moves me to tears. I know how much she loved you kids and adored being a grandma. Good news about the meatloaf….she taught me! Anytime you want to learn, let me know. I know, me teaching YOU how to cook, who would have thunk it?

  2. Stephanie Ziske January 16, 2007 at 5:17 pm #

    What a neat comment on Grandma, also made me cry. She really was incredible. I agree, I wish I knew her now. I miss her at Christmas mostly as I remember baking with her when I was young and she would always tell me not to eat the raw cookie dough from the cut outs or else I would get worms! Also this year went searching on ebay for the little christmas elfs that she had on her tree. Didnt end up with any but saw some that were very close. While looking at pictures of Christmas at Grandma’s house (and oh how young our parents were) I saw that she had these brown little houses that a christmas light would go in the back of. I had forgotten about those. Must share the meatloaf recipe, it was simply the best. Also, I do have some of her recipes and cookbooks so if there is a receipe that someone wants, please let me know and I will see what I have. I make her sugar cookies from her handwritten receipe every year and think of her. I too remember playing Chinese Checkers and also jacks when they were metal. Eric remembers those times as the best times he can remember. He also said that he remembers how we would always say we are going to Richard, Nancy, Jennifer, Jessica and little Ritchie’s house and how we would go in the backyard and play with slobbering Mumford. He mentioned how Nancy would clean the glass door and a few minutes later there’s slobber again. How we used to play Donny and Marie. As we are talking about it on the phone (he is talking to me as I type) we are remembering how it was all so great and has been so long since we have seen you guys. Eric also remember how Nancy took him to pick out the Darth Vadar statue. WHAT GREAT TIMES!
    Steph

  3. BookMama February 11, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    I’ve often had the same thoughts about both of my grandmothers – how nice it would be to know them as an adult. They died when I was 26 and 31, so I was actually an adult, but I wasn’t a mother yet, didn’t have a house, etc. I would love to bake with “Mimi,” hear Grandma’s family stories (and OH there were many!), etc. My Grandma died when BB was about 8 months old, and we visited her nearly every week during those 8 months. I’m so glad she did, because I can truthfully tell BB how much Great Grandma (and Great Grandpa, who died 7 months later) loved him.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These are a few of my favorite posts… « My Life in a Nutshell - February 14, 2008

    […] Link one is the one about my grandma […]

Leave a Reply

