A Book Meme

26 Feb

I saw this meme and thought I’d fill out my own:

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?

I like paperbacks best.  They are easier to read.

Amazon or brick and mortar?

I don’t know that I’ve ever bought from Amazon.  I usually buy them at a store.

Barnes & Noble or Borders?

Both too expensive for me. 

Bookmark or dogear?

If it’s a book I want to keep, I use a bookmark.  If it’s a thrift store find that I’m going to pass along, I add to the other dog ears.

Alphabetize by author or alphebetize by title or random?

Random, usually by size and if there are a few authors I try to keep them together.

Keep, throw away, or sell?

Donate!

Keep dustjacket or toss it?

I keep them on.

Read with dustjacket or remove it?

I always mean to take them off, but inevitably, they stay on.

Short story or novel?

Novels!

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?

Not really into either.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

I’ve never read any of these (sorry Jessica!!)

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?

Both.  Try to make it to the chapter break, but if I’m REALLY tired, I just bookmark it and call it a night.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?

 Well, I just started ‘Mirror Mirror’, so I guess this one will be ‘Once upon a time…’

Buy or Borrow?

I get 75% of my books from Salvation Army, and the other 25% from my father in law who reads more than anyone I know.

New or used?

99% used

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?

#1 Browse
#2 Recommendation

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?

They have to be tidy endings or I throw the book across the room. (Remember, Mom?) 

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading?

Nighttime when the girl is sleeping.

Standalone or series?

Usually standalone, but have a few series I’ve enjoyed.

Favorite series?

I can’t think of one offhand.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?

Swan House by Elizabeth Musser.  Christian writer, great story.  Quite unexpected, and I loved it.

Favorite books read last year?

The Birth of Venus, The Kitchen Boy, The Virgin Knots

Favorite books of all time?

I’ve enjoyed so many, it’s hard to recall.

Tag…

Jessica for sure.  And anyone else who wants to, just let me know so I can read it! 🙂

4 Responses to “A Book Meme”

  1. Jessica March 3, 2007 at 1:45 pm #

    I cant believe you STILL havent read Harry Potter. What a dissapointment.

  2. iheartcouture March 11, 2007 at 12:01 am #

    I’m with Jess on this one…Harry Potter is AMAZING. I could only wish I had this series as a kid…almost as good as Roald Dahl. Almost.

  3. jenefur March 11, 2007 at 12:08 pm #

    I’ll STILL have to pass on those books. The movies were fun/ok, but I just can’t get into the book.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Fun Facts About Reading « Book Mama - April 13, 2007

    […] 13th, 2007 by BookMama I saw this on Jenefur’s blog and couldn’t resist doing it myself. Hope others will take a turn […]

Leave a Reply

