Summertime!

18 Jun

While Fall is my favorite season, Summer has it’s wonders for me too.  Here is a list of my favorite summer things: 

Blue Hydrangea
Hydrangeas: I just love them.  One of the best birthday presents I ever received was a vase full of hand-cut hydrangeas from Shannon’s garden.

Daylight Savings: I know we change the clocks in March/April, but in June the sun doesn’t go down till about 8:00pm.  I love it!bing_cherries.jpg

Cherries, peaches and strawberries:  All in season.  Yum!

The Smell of Jasmine: There is nothing like walking around a corner and having the scent of blooming jasmine hit you like a ton of bricks.

183452190_fc42861b75.jpgFirework Stands: I always knew my birthday was near when I saw the first of the firework stands popping up.  Even as an adult, as soon as I see that first one on the corner of the road, I get excited.

 

What are some of your favorite summertime things? Leave me a comment!

5 Responses to “Summertime!”

  1. maryann June 22, 2007 at 6:07 am #

    you would love indiana. the sun sets at 9 and it’s dark at 9:30 — it took some getting used to 🙂

  2. Anne Williams June 24, 2007 at 9:43 am #

    Hi-Earl sent us your last letter and we have managed to track you this far. Hope all is well now.Sorry to hear Andrew has not been well but congratulations on your pregnancy. Do let us know if you get this.Anne and Marg

  3. Shannon July 13, 2007 at 2:25 pm #

    I love the things of summer, too. I was tickled to see you remember those hydrangeas. I wish I still had them. If I can figure out how to grow them here, I’m going to do it.

  4. Allison February 11, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m badly missing summer right about now…fresh green beans….fresh corn on the cob…fresh tomatoes…long bike rides…windows down with country music blaring….so many things to miss!

  5. BookMama February 11, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    Ah, I could use some summer today – it was 1 degree when I went to work this morning, with a windchill of 15 below.

    Here in Michigan, it doesn’t get dark until nearly 10 in the peak of summer! Gotta love it – especially as a kid when mom said “be home before the street lights come on.” Do you KNOW how late that is? 🙂 (OK, she didn’t actually say that to me much, but some of our friends had that rule.)

Leave a Reply

