No baby yet, but an interesting experience.

29 Nov

Yesterday, we made our way up to our house in the desert to pack things up for the big move on Saturday.  This is a two hour drive each way.  Early in the morning as we were just getting started, I was feeling some pain in my back and tightening of my stomach.  I told hubby what was up and he asked if I thought we should just stay in town.  I told him that we could go ahead with our plans, and if things got worse, we could always turn around.  So we went.

About 2pm, my body wasn’t cooperating.  I was being good and not straining myself.  Just wrapping dishes and putting them in boxes.  I left all of the bending, lifting and moving to my mom and husband, but still, my back was throbbing and my stomach tightening.  Is it Braxton Hicks again? I don’t know.  I never had any labor with Katie, as she was 2 weeks late – I ended up with a c-section.  At about 4:30, I knew I needed to get back on the road soon, just in case this happened to be the ‘real thing’.  We left at 5:30 and got back into town about 7:30.  Just enough time to stop and get in a quick shower, pack a bag and head to the hospital.

They monitored me for about an hour, and said that the baby sounded fine, and that it looked like I was having some minor contractions, but that they were probably BH.  I got a discharge sheet with ‘real’ reasons to come back or call.

I went to sleep around midnight and woke up about 9:30 (Katie was with mom, so I could actually sleep in, WHOO HOO!).  No problems during the night.  Yay.

All of this wondering if it is the real thing is nerve wracking.  I guess it goes along with the whole pregnancy thing, but I guess I thought because the delivery was scheduled a week early, that I was not going to experience any of the normal labor things like BH and whatnot.  At any rate, this gives me a few more days to get my affairs in order.  Either I’ll go into labor in the next 7 days or they’ll just proceed with the c-section in 7 days.  I just can’t wait to meet this new little one, and am excited to see how Katie reacts.  🙂

2 Responses to “No baby yet, but an interesting experience.”

  1. Joleen November 30, 2007 at 5:45 am #

    Oh Becky I feel you more than you know. I have had this with all three kids early labor BH. With this one I have been having them since September. It is very uncomforatble. It is almost over Becky hang in there. I hope you make it to your date. Becareful and just FYI long trips are not godd for you if you are having BH it can make it worse. TTYL good luck with delivery if I dont get to talk to you before I go in on Monday for my own delivery.

  2. learningwoman December 1, 2007 at 12:36 pm #

    I’m excited for you! Glad you’re okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

