Post-Baby: Two Weeks

20 Dec

I’m back!  Here is a run down of the last two weeks…

Wednesday 12/5     We sent Katie off with Aunt Julie to be taken to Grandma’s house for a few days while we go to the hospital.  She was more excited at the prospect of seeing her cousin RJ than the fact that Baby Brother would be coming soon.

Thursday 12/6     Left for the hospital at 5am to check in at 5:30.  The nurses got me all set up for the big C-section scheduled for 7:30.  (Note to anyone going to have a C-section… the hospital I had Katie at automatically put in a catheter AFTER the anesthesiologist did her thing, but THIS hospital doesn’t do that as common practice.  You have to REQUEST it.  So, check  your hospital rules before going in.  Luckily, I was paying attention, and made my request!)  Baby was born at 8:03 am… it’s a BOY!  We named him Grant Barclay and he was 8 lbs., 13 oz, 20 inches long. 

december-445.jpg

I was in recovery for about 2 1/2 hours and Andrew went with the baby and stayed with him while he was in the nursery.  I finally got to hold him about 11am when they joined me in my room.  Grandpa R was our first visitor, followed by Grandma H and Katie.  Katie was so excited to meet the baby.  She got to sit on the bed with me and gave Grant lots of hugs and kisses.  Grandpa F came by later that day as well! 

Friday 12/7-Saturday 12/8     Stayed at the hospital through Saturday afternoon.  The nurses were great at my hospital, and I lucked out having the same day nurse all three days.  The only problem I had was trouble passing gas (which in my whole life has never been a problem – my husband didn’t fail to see the irony) and I had severe gas pains in my stomach.  They gave me everything from milk of magnesia to prune juice.  Let’s just say that it took several days to get back to normal, and I’m feeling much better!  We had a few more visitors… Billie stopped by, and Jenn came by with lots of goodies for us.  Also, Grandpa F and Grandma D came back with Julie, Richie & RJ.

We checked out Saturday and made our way home.  Though it was a bumpy ride on the freeway and I wasn’t feeling that great, we saw an AWESOME rainbow on the way.

Sunday 12/9-Today 12/20     Adjusting to two kids has been very interesting.  Katie wants to ‘help’ with baby all of the time… sneaking a bottle into his mouth when I’m not looking, or trying to give him her monkey.  She also is very interested in my boobs.  I had to tell her about breastfeeding when were at the hospital.  The other day I saw her with her shirt up trying to breastfeed her monkey.  Too funny.  She also will wrap up her monkey in a blanket and put him in the swing to go ‘to sleep’.  Because she is so rough, I have to monitor her kissing Grant.  And this happens about 50 times a day.  She loves to sit next to me on the couch, putting a pillow on her lap, so she can hold Baby Brother.  I also let her feed him a bottle a couple times and she just loves that.  So, I guess things could be worse… while on vacation, we met a couple whose daughter stopped talking when they had their son, and had to learn sign language to communicate!  Katie just loves the baby, and I can’t see her EVER stop talking! 

The baby is doing great.  His belly button nub fell off, so I can get ready for the ‘first bath’.  He sleeps most of the time, and wakes up every 3-4 hours for food.  Luckily he doesn’t mind all of the attention from his sister.

I am recovering quite nicely.  Went to the doctor to have my staples removed last week.  I am already 10 pounds lighter than my pre-pregnancy weight.  I am breastfeeding, so let’s see how much weight I lose this time around!

Andrew went back to work today (YIPPY!), so it is my first full day alone with both of the kids.  They are both napping right now, which is the only way I can get to the computer!  I am still unpacking boxes after the move.  This place is coming along and we are settling in nicely.

 So, that’s what we’ve been up to!  I was even able to get some pix sent to costco.com to have Christmas cards printed up.  Always the thinker, I printed up my labels weeks ago, so I wouldn’t have to mess with it post-baby.  It took me about an hour to get them stuffed, stamped and sealed.  Whoo hoo. 

Now I’m going to try to eat a quick lunch before my little ones wake up.  Wish me luck.

Ps, thanks to all of you who sent well wishes for the delivery!

6 Responses to “Post-Baby: Two Weeks”

  1. BookMama December 20, 2007 at 7:58 pm #

    Congrats Jen! Glad to hear that everything is going well. That’s great that your daughter loves the baby – she’ll learn how to be gentler with him. 🙂

    And are you seriously 10 lbs below your PRE-pregnancy weight? Wow!!

  2. kbriscoe December 24, 2007 at 10:24 am #

    Congratulations! I was cracking up over the comment about your daughter trying to feed her monkey. That’s hillarious! Anyway….enjoy YOUR Christmas present. God Bless your family and have a wonderful Christmas.

  3. AmericanMum December 24, 2007 at 5:06 pm #

    Congrats! Beautiful toesies he has there. And thanks for the info on the catheter thing – a good thing to keep in mind as a doula. My son still has vivid memories of me hooked up to the breastpump – he’ll have to deal with that in counseling eventually I assume ha ha.

  4. Secret Agent Mama December 28, 2007 at 6:14 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    You asked, in my post over at SecretAgentMama.com how big my David was at birth. He was 11lbs 13.9oz.. My birth story is linked in that post, too. Check it out! 😀

  5. GoofyJ December 31, 2007 at 12:30 pm #

    Congrats Jen! You know why my congrats are belated 🙂 Glad the delivery went well and that you are recovering nicely – and especially glad that baby is healthy. 🙂

  6. Grace January 4, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    congratulations!!! how exciting and tiring and great. so good.

    and hey wow I made some ones blog roll!!

Leave a Reply

