We made it through Christmas!

26 Dec

Yesterday was a whirlwind for us, as I’m sure it was for many of you!

We started off by having Christmas morning with our new little family.  Katie set out milk & cookies the night before, and was excited to see that Santa left only a few crumbs.  It was great starting new traditions with her, as she is more understanding of what is going on.  As we look for a new church to join this year, she will also be learning the religious aspect of the holiday as well.  We only had a few presents for her – two DVD’s, a robe and some new ‘big girl’ underwear (she is doing pretty well with the potty training bit).  Andrew decided Christmas Eve at 9pm to see if any stores were open to get some things for her stocking.  I had forgotten all about stuffing the stockings!!  Only Walgreens was open, and he said it was packed!  He picked up some coloring books, candy and a few other little things.  He was gone so long, I headed to bed at 10:30… since the kids were out, I had to get some precious sleep for myself!  I left out the stockings, and when I came out to the living room for the 3am feeding, I saw that my precious hubby had set up the stockings, wrapped all of the presents and had the room set up for us.  What a guy!

We finally got up to my dad’s around noon, and hung out there with the family.  A friend of mine that I’ve known since preschool was in town visiting her dad, so we were able to hook up for about an hour.  I love that I have friends that I’ve had forever.  Even though you may not see them for awhile, when you DO finally get together, it’s like you were never apart!

About 5pm, we headed to my father-in-law’s for dinner with hubby’s side of the family.  Katie had fun playing with her new camera and was ‘taking pictures’ of everyone, while the baby slept after eating.  Of course, he started crying as we sat down for dinner, and by the time I was ready to eat, my food was cold.  Ah, motherhood. 🙂

Then on to Andrew’s good friend’s house for a quick visit.  They weren’t home yet when we got there, so we drove around the housing track looking at all of the lights.  Let me tell you, my daughter has a keen eye.  She’d point out a Snoopy or Grinch way before my blind eyes could see them.  Katie LOVES looking at the lights, so we were happy that this area had so many decorations.  After visiting with our friends, we headed home.  Both kids conked out pretty quickly, and I was able to read about a chapter in my current book before conking out myself.

Saturday we head to my mom’s for another family get-together, then New Year’s Eve, over to the FIL’s house for some Rumolli.   FUN!  

3 Responses to “We made it through Christmas!”

  1. Smiling Mom December 27, 2007 at 8:22 pm #

    A cold meal… the story of my life too! 🙂

  2. Chocolate Vegetables December 28, 2007 at 6:01 pm #

    Or in my case the first 3-6 months poor ol’ dh has to cut all my food into bite size pieces because we can guarantee I will only have one hand for eating while the other holds the baby. lol

    Best of luck with new bubs and his big sister.

    CV

  3. GoofyJ December 31, 2007 at 12:36 pm #

    Congrats on making it through Christmas – quite the accomplishment 🙂 Yes, cold meals, pre-chopped food, its what makes life so fun 🙂 At this stage – with #5 I have become a master of eating and nursing at the same time (almost…. the reason I cover the babe with a blankie isn’t necessarily to hide from prying eyes, but to catch the drips!) heh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

