One Month

7 Jan

Well, the squirt is officially one month old as of yesterday.  Though he has only gained 3 ounces, he is a champion eater.  He is getting about half and half breast and formula.  And here is a good question… why is it that the Newborn sizes say 5-7 pounds and my kid is 9 pounds and swims in these outfits?  It will be nice when he finally fits into something. His baby acne seems to be getting a little better – which is a good thing, because I don’t know how long I can hold back and NOT pop those little suckers.  So tempting. At least he doesn’t have cradle cap like Katie did.  I didn’t get her head cleared up till she was about a year old! 

Speaking of Katie, she loves her little brother.  She is at a serious imitation stage right now (she will act out an entire conversation between me & my husband WHILE the conversation is taking place), and says things that I say like, “Oh, look at him” or “Hi big boy”.  It is so cute.  She also has ‘The Monkey” which she has decided to share with Grant even though we tell her she doesn’t have to. (I will write about the monkey another time.  Lets just say Linus is to his blanket as Katie is to her monkey.)  She is so helpful and loves to get me a fresh diaper when it’s time to change Grant.  Also, when we go out, she tells EVERYONE that she is a big sister.

Adjusting to two kids has been interesting.  They like to tag-team me… while one is crying to be fed, the other is yelling that she pooped.  Being at home is not so bad (though I don’t get a whole lot done), but going out is another story.  We went to the doctor and the post office last Monday, and that was enough for me.  I don’t know how I’ll ever get any grocery shopping done while Andrew is at work.  I may have to find a 24 hour grocery store and go in the middle of the night!

By the way, I have lost 30 pounds over this last month.  Whoo hoo!  Since I only gained 10 during the pregnancy, I am happy to say I am 20 pounds lighter than I started.  I’m sure at some point, I’ll have to start exercising, but for now, between changed eating habits and breastfeeding, I’m doing great.  I’ve been wearing my regular clothes since I got home from the hospital and all of my maternity gear is packed up and ready to donate.  In fact several of my pants are TOO BIG!! Whoo hoo… I can see a shopping spree in my future.  Luckily I have a drawer full of smaller size jeans, so I’m hoping that I can start wearing those soon.   Wish me luck!

5 Responses to “One Month”

  1. looksgoodinpolkadots January 7, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    Yay for post baby weight loss!

    Don’t keep any of the clothes that you get too small for… or you’ll do like I did and slowly sneak back up by the first birthday… if you get rid of the clothes and don’t allow stretchy waistbands… then you REALIZE right away if a pound or two sneaks back on! I learned this lesson the hard way!!!

    I went through a year of wearing those stretch waist band gaucho pants… they were cute… I was cute… they looked good. Then I went to put on a super cute pair of button fly capris… and guess what? They didn’t fit (by several inches!). I was devastated. How on earth did that happen? Comfort clothes… thats how! No more gauchos for me!

  2. indianamatt January 7, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    Well done on the weight! I frequently take my daughter grocery shopping, but I think I’ll have to draw the line when we have a 2nd one.
    Unfortunately, our daughter’s current “monkey” is a pair of binoculars. We’re constantly having to watch to make sure she doesn’t wrap the string around herself…or the poor dog.

  3. Allison January 7, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    Cute! You’re like Miranda (from Sex and the City) with her skinny jeans.

  4. jenefur January 9, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    Polka Dots – you must have faith in me!

    Allison – I’ve never seen SITC! No cable. It’s either local programming or PBS.

  5. Allison January 9, 2008 at 7:05 pm #

    I don’t have HBO, but I checked it out on DVD from the library and I’ve been addicted ever since.

    Miranda (the redhead played by Cynthia Nixon) had been saving a pair of skinny jeans (I think they were Chic brand) for years…and suddenly discovered after having her son that she was down to her skinny jeans weight. She was like a new woman- walking around with her friends sashaying her hips…very cute!

Leave a Reply

