I won’t grow up…

9 Jan

When I was a mere 1 year old, my parents bought a home in a brand new housing track.  Only a few families had moved in by the time we did, and the C family lived right next door.  They had a daughter who was a month older than me.  Up the street, the H family had 2 boys – one older than me and one the same age.  Soon thereafter, there were 6 kids in the C family and 3 in my family.  Some years later, a few of the other families on the block moved out, and the M family moved in next door on our other side and the S family moved in across the street.

  jlja.jpg

jlj-posing.jpg

We would play ball in the street and yell “CAR” to clear the way for everyone else.  We’d play hide and seek, Atari, and make our own clubs. 

Our moms were moms to everyone.  C Mom taught me how to cook Italian food, amongst other things.  I loved being in her kitchen. 

When the C Family moved.

Through the years, we all have stayed friends.  Though the C family moved out of state when I was 17, we all have remained close and half of the kids have since moved back to California.  We’re more than just friends, we’re our own family.  We’ve seen eachother through our childhood, school years, parents divorces, our own relationships, and even having our own kids.  We’ve travelled back and forth collecting many mileage points to see eachother.  We have been in too many weddings to count. 

grrgroup.jpg

My brother’s was the latest and we got a great group shot.

grr-richies-wedding.jpg

I love these guys!  They’ve all ended up with great spouses and have turned out to be beautiful people.

I hope that one day when we get settled in, that my own kids will be lucky enough to find and keep such wonderful friends as I did.  This group knows more about eachother than we care too, and we wouldn’t trade it for anything.

11 Responses to “I won’t grow up…”

  1. Tracy C. January 9, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    Beautiful job Jennifer! You are so thoughtful!

  2. Gianna January 9, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    I love it! I have some of the best memories growing up with everyone. The Green River Family will always have a special place in my heart.

  3. Nicole Huggler January 9, 2008 at 7:55 pm #

    I love how you put this altogether; very nice!

  4. looksgoodinpolkadots January 10, 2008 at 6:39 am #

    That’s awesome! The friends from our childhood are the ones that remain forever. What a treasure you have.

  5. Lisa C. January 10, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    This is absolutely wonderful! You covered just about everything!
    I suppose it was probably a good idea to leave such phrases as: ‘Flubba’, ‘Big Red’, ‘Body Rap’, ‘Zuba’ and countless others out of this trip back in time…! 😉
    Love,
    ‘The 1 month older than you C daughter’

  6. Amy January 10, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    Wow, that is so cool that you have that. I’m so jealous that you got to grow up with such cool neighbors. What an amazing community of support…then and now!

  7. jenefur January 10, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    C Girls – you are all awesome.

    Lisa – don’t be jealous of my plastic shoes in the second picture. 🙂

    Amy & Polka Dots – They are treasures to me!

  8. Heidi January 10, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    That’s how I totally remember you… at Morris! You were such a fun friend! Makes me want to dig up old pics now! I’m actually cleaning my closet and I just might run across a few…we’ll see. What wonderful chilldhood memories you have…

  9. richie January 11, 2008 at 2:59 pm #

    that is just wonderful.

  10. Oldest M brother January 15, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    I’ll never have to truely grow up thanks to the great lifelong friends I have made living on this street. We grew up together and still continue grow together.
    Hello everyone from the Oldest M brother from next door.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These are a few of my favorite posts… « My Life in a Nutshell - February 21, 2008

    […] two is  about my childhood friends and my mommy […]

Leave a Reply

