Cabin Fever

17 Jan

I ventured out today with both kids.  I WILL get the hang of this someday. 

First stop… Target.  Baby is in his carrier in the cart.  Katie is running around the store.  They do not have the item I go there for.  BLAST! That means I have to make another pit stop.

Second stop… Clothing Store.  This is right next to Target, but I put baby in the stroller and Katie is walking.  Or shall I say RUNNING… through the clothing store.  I really want to shop as I have a $100 gift certificate, a 20% off coupon AND am 30 pounds lighter.  I find a few things, try them on and try to get the heck out of there as quickly as possible.  In the meantime, my baby is crying and Katie has found the jewelry and has about 8 bracelets on each arm.  The only way to get them off without her having a total meltdown is for me to pretend we are buying them, and she takes them off to give to the saleslady.

Third stop… Grocery Store.  Again, baby in cart, Katie walking.  The store has managed to place a display of books right as you walk in.  Katie finds a book and tears through the store.  I figure it is keeping her busy as I am trying to fill my cart in record time, so I let her hang onto it.  I finally check out, load up the kids & groceries and drive home.

I get home and see that they charged me 4.99 for my 1.79 book.  That doesn’t make me happy, but am I really going to turn around to return it when baby needs to be changed and Katie needs a nap? Not a chance.  The book will be going back on my next grocery trip, mark my words. 

Now Katie is having a meltdown because there are no bracelets for her.  Ah, two year olds!

5 Responses to “Cabin Fever”

  1. sherrislife January 17, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    If you get some good secrets to taking 2 out, be sure to psot them. Mine are 1 and almost 3 and some trips I feel like I have it licked and others I wonder what other people must be thinking about me and brood- hahaha.

  2. looksgoodinpolkadots January 17, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    I would love to say it gets easier. But that would be a lie. The truth is, we just getting better equipped for dealing with it. I absolutely love the Crayola Color Wonder packets… I reserve them for errands/outtings when I really need the toddler to behave and be quiet for a few minutes. She might go through an entire book… but the sanity is worth it. I watch for clearance sales on them… Target often has them for half price after the Holidays and Back to School time. These are much better than the traditional art stuff because they can’t make a mess on the Doctors carpet or the fitting room walls. ;0) Chug on Mommy… this too shall pass.

  3. Allison January 18, 2008 at 9:00 am #

    You are a brave, brave woman. I struggle with just taking one child (2 yrs old too) to stores…can’t imagine taking two at once. Just the carseat situation alone could make you crazy. I had to laugh at the pretend buying tactic…I’ve done the exact same thing!

  4. thedailydish January 25, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    YOU POOR THING! Boy, have I been there…. over and over and over. I find bribery works wonders.

  5. Amy February 3, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    Oh my gosh–you are amazing! I can’t believe you got ALL that done in one outing. You are inspiring me for 3 months from now when I will be cooped up in the house with an infant and a toddler on maternity leave. Now I know it’s possible to leave the house if I really need to.

Leave a Reply

