Balancing Act

25 Jan

I’ve been married five years, and a mom for almost three of those years.  Before I was a mom, I worked full time, and since becoming one, I’ve worked part time.  I stopped working October of last year, and with the move and the new baby, we’ve had a LOT of changes going on.  It’s always been important to me to be able to stay home with my kids, and our finances changed drastically when I went from FT to PT and now to NO TIME.

I am officially a Full Time Homemaker/Mother/Wife.  And juggling these new roles is not easy!  I can be a slacker and spend lots of time on the internet, talking on the phone and/or reading books, but quite frankly, that is not what I signed up for.  Staying at home is no easy task, and making the transition is going to take some time and effort. 

I’m going to attempt to use the Flylady as a guideline for keeping house.  I’m re-reading my New Bride Guide book given to me by a friend before I got married.  And I just ordered a few books from Amazon to help me with my budgeting, living on one income and spirituality.

At some point this year, I will pick up some side work to bring in some extra money.  In the meantime, I’m going to focus on my new Full Time job and give it all I’ve got.

6 Responses to “Balancing Act”

  1. rmboys January 27, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    It isn’t easy doing the balancing act but it is oh so worth it! Thanks for stopping by my blog. We Loved the Veggie Tales movies and the deal was sweetned by two free tickets for our boys. Hope your having a great weekend.

    Renee’
    http://rmboys2.wordpress.com/

  2. looksgoodinpolkadots January 27, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    If you are looking to pick up a little extra income working from home, let me know. I just put in my notice at work to work fulltime from home as a freelance/contractor for a couple companies. They are legit, and easy… although a bit boring at times! The one lets you work as little as 10 hours a week on your own schedule and the only investment was a background check fee (of course you need a good computer system and fast internet). 😉

  3. GoofyJ January 28, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    Best of luck! It is tough – make sure you include you time as well – being a full time mom is draining and you don’t get to go home at the end of the day – so be sure to schedule time when you can do things you enjoy, or at the very least a quiet time during the day where the kids are resting or playing quietly in a seperate room and you can rest or do some things your enjoy.

    Oh – and while the fly lady is a good guide, she goes WAY overboard on some of the housecleaning things – in other words don’t be afraid to let some of cleaning go from time to time to enjoy being with the kiddos. 🙂

    I’ve been a stay at home mom from the first kid on (almost 9 years now), though I teach piano at home for some extra income, so if you need any advice – or some one to vent to 😉 – I am always here – you can email me anytime. 🙂

  4. lisamm January 29, 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    I’m a stay at home mom too (10 years) and the adjustment was hard. I felt really isolated for a long time until I started getting involved with other moms (playgroups, etc) and later with the kids’ schools. The money part was not as hard as I expected. It was kind of shocking to discover how much money I spent just to be employed (professional clothing, restaurant meals, fast food, gas, etc.) We rarely eat out now and spend way less money than we used to. Still it would be nice to find a way to earn some money from home. I’m a Flybaby too, btw, but I take from it what works and leave the rest.

  5. jenefur January 29, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    Hey girls, thanks for the support & advice. I know the Flybaby stuff goes a bit extreme… I tried it once before and there is no way I could keep up even if I wanted too. I’m just using it as an outline on getting things done.

  6. Ruby January 30, 2008 at 3:38 pm #

    Good luck to you as a SAHM! I am so glad to not be working anymore, but there are some days when I wish I had somewhere else I had to be, lol. – Ruby

Leave a Reply

