…and when she was bad, she was horrid.

8 Feb

Wednesday was the worst day being a parent thus far.  Here is what my daughter put me through:

  • Picked up baby out of his swing and DROPPED him on my hardwood floors.
  • Ran around the grocery store picking fruit and eating it before I could catch her, taking flowers out of their bucket and spilling water all over the floor, running up and down the aisles, and getting into the cash register station next to our aisle.
  • Pouring a bottle of water out in our car.
  • Closing the door and locking me out of the house when I was getting the baby out of the car.

Next time I go to the store, I’m bringing duct tape with me.

8 Responses to “…and when she was bad, she was horrid.”

  1. fightingwindmills February 8, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    Oh my! Next time you get them out of the car, leave her buckled in her carseat and take the baby in first. Unload your groceries or whatever is in your car with your daughter still buckled in. That’s what I learned to do (learned the hard way) when my daughter was 2 and my son was a newborn. 🙂

  2. Allison February 9, 2008 at 1:24 pm #

    That sounds horrific. Are you trying to talk me out of a 2nd child? [Not b/c your children are bad, but because it sounds a bit overwhelming.]

    Did your daughter at least get some cash out of the register for you?

  3. Smiling Mom February 9, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    I’ve had days like these. My son was sent to his room to ‘think’ for long periods of time until it was a reasonable enough time of the evening to put him to bed for good.

    God Bless our moms for staying sane on days like these!

  4. Mindi February 10, 2008 at 2:08 pm #

    Don’t bring duct tape….get clear packing tape. That way random strangers might not notice it as much as the bright silver duct tape!

    Oh – and since Allison tagged me, I’m tagging you with the Favorite posts meme (still working out the etiquette of tagging people!)

  5. indianamatt February 12, 2008 at 9:32 am #

    Forget the tape. You need handcuffs.

  6. lisamm February 12, 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    That’s about the age I stopped taking my kids to the store unless I absolutely had to.

  7. lisamm February 12, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Oh, ps.. you left a comment a while back on a book review for The Jane Austen Book Club.. I came by to ask if you ever finished it. I was wondering what you thought of it.

  8. jenefur February 12, 2008 at 6:27 pm #

    Windmill… I would consider that, except she sits and screams in the car when I don’t get her out immediately and I don’t want the busybody neighbors to call Child Protective Services.

    Allison… It’s the first child that is giving me trouble, not the second one… so go ahead and have more!

    Smiling Mom… Oh, she went to her room to ‘think’ alright! For about 2 hours! (Well she fell asleep after 10 minutes of screaming.)

    Mindi… You are right… I’ll have to go to Costco and get a 6-pack… I’m sure I’ll use it all.

    Matt… I know, but refer to my comment to Windmill… don’t want CPS on my butt!

    Lisa… I hear you… Hubby will either have to accompany me or I’ll leave one at home with him! Also, I left the book at my mom’s last week, but I’m halfway through it. I’ll let you know my thoughts when I finish it!

Leave a Reply

