On the mend

20 Feb

Well, here is the lowdown.  Grant & Katie were sick all last week.  Finally, on Friday morning, I took them to their pediatrician.  They both got breathing treatments, then I was told Grant needed a chest xray.  I left and took Katie to my father in law’s.  Luckily for me, my hubby had already been sent home from work because HE was sick, so I called him to have him come look after the girl.

The chest xray came back and the dr said no pneumonnia.  Whew!  BUT, he wanted to get Grant admitted at the hospital, so he could get care over the weekend (he wanted to avoid us having to sit in the ER over the weekend!) The dr called the hospital to get a bed reserved for Grant, but by 5, still no bed available.  Since his office was closing, we were sent to the ER to wait until his bed was ready.  Andrew showed up at the hospital about 6:30, and by 7:00 we were finally upstairs.

After doing some blood tests, they determined that he had RSV.  They used suction for his nose and did breathing treatements every 4 hours. We stayed until Tuesday morning.  The nursing staff was wonderful, and we ended up with some really nice roommates while we were there.  As usual, the hospital food sucked.  I ended up with this weird thing for breakfast… it was a brick of egg.  Gross. 

Katie ended up going to my mom’s where she had her breathing treatments.  (She has bronchiolitis.)

We are all back at home now – it was so nice to sleep in my own bed!  I am going back & forth between both kids doing the treatments and trying to get my house up to speed.  10 loads of laundry to be exact.  I’m about halfway done and it is 4:30.

6 Responses to “On the mend”

  1. GoofyJ February 20, 2008 at 11:38 pm #

    Thank goodness everything is ok and you are all are home now and getting better. Good luck with the laundry – I was SOOO far behind after the baby was born it was scary. 🙂

  2. Allison February 21, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    I’m glad to hear you’re back home now. I’m sure that breathing treatments for two aren’t fun. Hurry spring!

  3. looksgoodinpolkadots February 21, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    Glad to hear you are on the road to recovery!

  4. hsuree February 21, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    Yikes! It’s so sad when our babies have to be hospitalized and subjected to all the pokes and proddings involved. I’m glad all is well! Which hospital were you at?

  5. curlywurlygurly February 22, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    hope everyone is feeling better soon! i like the new layout! 🙂

  6. jenefur February 27, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    Hi everyone… baby is doing so much better… he’s down to 3x a day for the treatments and Katie is completely off of them!

Leave a Reply

