I’m a boy.

1 Mar

‘I’m a girl and I’m so beautiful,
I wear a dress and I’m not a boy.
Mommy’s a boy and Julie’s a girl.’

This is the song my daughter just sang to me.

Ever since we had the baby, she has been going through an identity crisis.  At any given moment she will blurt out, ‘I’m a boy!’  I then have to explain that she is indeed a girl.  The first time she was around when I was changing his diaper, this was our conversation:

K: He has poop!

Me: That isn’t poop, that is his penis and that is how he goes potty.

K: I have a pea-nuts too!

Me: No, you have a vagina – that’s how girls go potty.

K: I have a gi-na.

Me: Yes

K: I’m a boy.

And so every day, all day long she tells me ‘I’m a boy’. 

Me: If you’re a boy, then I can throw away your princess shoes and your pretty dresses because you won’t need them.

K: I’m a girl.

And everytime I change him, she says ‘He has a pea-nuts again.’ And I tell her that it is attached and it’s not going anywhere.

5 Responses to “I’m a boy.”

  1. morethananelectrician March 1, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    My daughter (3 yo) is convinced that boys have short hair and girls have long hair. Period. No exceptions.

    When she saw an old picture of herself when she was one, she exclamed.

    “I was a boy when I was little, but now I am a girl!”

  2. Mindi March 2, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    MY boys keep asking me where my daughter’s penis is.

    And because BestFriendMommy is from Germany, her boys are uncircumsized, so they told my boys that mommy chopped off their penis. That was a fun conversation!

  3. Matt March 2, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    ooo, nice with the princess shoes.

  4. learningwoman March 4, 2008 at 6:38 am #

    Love this post, it made me laugh. 🙂

  5. jenefur March 6, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    Isn’t she funny? What a crack up. We still go through this routine. Daily.

Leave a Reply

