Dixieland Sushi

1 Apr

I just read this book and it made me laugh!  The main character (a Jenn like me!) was born in 1974 (like me!) and throughout the book has flashbacks to her 4th-8th grade days in the 80’s.  I am not the best book reviewer, but I will say that if you were born during that time, you will laugh at this book to her references to plastic shoes, The Karate Kid, roller-skating birthday parties, friendship bracelets, etc.

Not to mention Jen grew up in Arkansas and was the daughter of Bubba (white guy) and Vivien (Japanese) – hence the title.  Loved it!

Dixieland Sushi by Cara Lockwood.  Picked it up at the Salvation Army for $1.  Go me.

3 Responses to “Dixieland Sushi”

  1. curlywurlygurly April 2, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    rollerskating birthdays…oh, the good ole’ days. i used to don my purple leg warmers and Jordache jeans to make a splash at The Crystal Palace (the local rink).

    i too was born in 1974…7/11 to be exact…so i’m going to check this book out! thanks. 🙂

    Curly, that means I’m 11 days older than you! 🙂

  2. Allison April 3, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    I’ll have to check that one out 🙂

  3. fightingwindmills May 5, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    That sounds like a great book! Thanks for the review/recommendation. And way to go finding it for $1! That was really lucky.

    I gave it to my sister to read… I can’t wait to see what she thinks of it.

Leave a Reply

