Google Maps is creepy

21 Apr

So, I was looking up an address on Google maps, and noticed there was a ‘street view’.  Holy crap, they have pictures of the street and houses as if you are driving down the middle of the street.  I googled my dad’s address, and sure as sh*t, there is his house.  The garage door was open and you can see inside!  There are cars parked and you can see license plates!! This seems like a huge invasion of privacy to me.  What do you think?

6 Responses to “Google Maps is creepy”

  1. morethananelectrician April 21, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    I hear there is an actual lawsuit about this very thing. Someone on a private road has brought a suit against google.

    Legally, if it is visible from the public street, then it is fair game.

    I am not a fan of the process…unless I need it! 😉

    Somehow it just doesn’t seem right to be able to take pictures of people’s homes/cars/etc and post them on the internet with the address available. PS, can you imagine that is your job, driving around each street taking pictures of houses? Weird.

  2. curlywurlygurly April 21, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    google maps is for light-weight stalkers.

    if you want to get serious, check out http://www.maps.live.com and check out the bird’s eye view. now THAT is some serious spy hunting.

  3. GoofyJ April 21, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    That is pretty frreaky – I hadn’t known about the driving down the street thing – to some things there just need to be limits.

  4. curlywurlygurly April 22, 2008 at 5:34 am #

    *note* i forgot about the googlemap street view thing–you’re right–that one is realllllly bad.

    That’s what I’m saying!!

  5. LisaH April 29, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    Hmm, for my address maps.live.com shows the house 4 houses down from us. You’ll never find me! Ha ha! No street view for us yet on Google Maps. I guess they haven’t been to backwoods GA yet!

    Great, now I’ll be up all night typing all my friends’ addresses into the search. What’s your address again Jenn? HA HA! Nevermind, I’ll find it myself on zabasearch.com 😉

    Have you seen zillow.com? Not only can you see everyone’s house, you can see what they paid for it too.

    I’ll have to check those sites out and see how much YOU paid for your house you rich bitch. LOL

  6. learningwoman May 8, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    Very creepy! I just looked it up. Luckily, they don’t seem to have made it to my hometown, or where we are now…..yet…..

    Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

