The Treble Makers

23 May

When I was in 4th and 5th grade, I was a member of a children’s choir called ‘The Treble Makers’ at my elementary school.  We had an awesome teacher who taught us so many wonderful things.  I loved to sing!  Our group did a lot of performances for the schools, and I seem to recall performing at City Hall and a bowling alley once!  We had these funny little red & white outfits (see below).

Like my bangs?  Honi… I love your knee highs!

There I am… #2 on the totem pole with the blue eyeshadow!

See the blue pompom? I’m right behind it holding the ‘W’.

We had so much fun singing our little hearts out.  The only BAD memory I have is forgetting the lines to my solo in ‘This Land is Your Land’ and I just stood there at the microphone.  When my part was over, I just backed into line.  How sad.

I was in my Junior High choir and drama class and played the flute for about 4 years, but I pretty much only sing with my daughter now or when I’m alone in the car.

What kind of groups were you in growing up? Are you still involved with that sport/music/art etc? 
 

3 Responses to “The Treble Makers”

  1. Heidi May 23, 2008 at 8:15 pm #

    Ahhh! Memories! Love all the pics. I remember dancing to the Tea Party song…I think I danced with Rick Pinion? My memory is gone on some things but I do remember those outfits and was so excited because on performance nights I got to wear mascara!!!! oooh!

    Oh, I remember the Tea Party dance too! LOL

  2. Suzie May 24, 2008 at 5:31 pm #

    Those are too funny! I do remember those outfits, and my slip falling to my knees on performance night… too funny!
    Remember Mrs. Gillan? ” Sooo, Meeee ~!” HaHa

    What was up with ‘Sooo meee’ anyway? What was that supposed to mean? And I also remember singing our names… Jen-ni-fer with our hands doing the syllables.

  3. Honi Luv May 25, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    I’m crying now….from laughter that is. Oh how I LOVE my hair ( it’s always about my hair:P). Got to love the knee high socks too. The funny thing is, I recall wearing those same kind of socks in the 90’s too…go figure. Oh, BTW….I listened to the songs from “LGDI” that you sent the other day and I was singing along with it for John and I remembered ALL the words…I guess that it made an impact huh?…. 😛 SOOOOOOOMEEEEEEEEE Hon-iiiiiiiiiiiiiiii (long I sound!) :O

    Don’t laugh too much or you’re going straight to Mr. Roger’s room! I always loved the little klunk klunk sound between Cherry Tree Chop… CHOP CHOP!

Leave a Reply

