June is busting out all o-o-ver!!

1 Jun

Woo Woo!! It’s here… my favorite month.  Why? Because my birthday is in June!  And now Miss Katie’s birthday is in June too!  Summer is coming… and I JUST LOVE IT.  I wrote about some of my favorite summertime things last year, but since most of you didn’t read my little blog last year, I decided to re-visit again this year.

Blue Hydrangea
Hydrangeas: I just love them.  One of the best birthday presents I ever received was a vase full of hand-cut hydrangeas from Shannon’s garden.

 

Daylight Savings: I know we change the clocks in March/April, but in June the sun doesn’t go down till about 8:00pm.  I love it!

bing_cherries.jpg

 

Cherries, peaches and strawberries:  All in season.  Yum!

 

 

The Smell of Jasmine: There is nothing like walking around a corner and having the scent of blooming jasmine hit you like a ton of bricks.

183452190_fc42861b75.jpgFirework Stands: I always knew my birthday was near when I saw the first of the firework stands popping up.  Even as an adult, as soon as I see that first one on the corner of the road, I get excited.

 

What are some of your favorite summertime things? Leave me a comment!

7 Responses to “June is busting out all o-o-ver!!”

  1. curlywurlygurly June 2, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    fireworks stands?!? illegal in jersey. boo hoo. but i do love those little sparklers.

    my favorite summertime things?

    sand on the floor mats in my car, cotton candy and funnel cake, my birthday, memories of playing manhunt and other outside games as a kid, drippy ice cream cones that i can’t keep up with, the smell of sun tan lotion, and peeling skin on my nose after spending a bit too long on the beach.

    Ooh… funnel cake at the fair! YUM! As for the fireworks, they are getting more rare out here as many cities are banning them. Even then, they are the wimpy sparklers and piccolo petes… nothing compared to some of the stuff we saw while traveling through South Carolina where they sell them all year long!

    🙂

  2. bluesuit12 June 2, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    I agree, summer is the best!! I really like that the sun stays out longer. Even though I haven’t done this in years, I always think of playing night games with my friends in the summer. And it didn’t matter how late you stayed out b/c there was no school.

    Yes! We always stayed out late and played baseball in the street or tag. So fun. 🙂

  3. GoofyJ June 2, 2008 at 7:53 am #

    Those are such great things – the only thing I can do without during the summer is intense heat. I like warm, but I don’t like broiling. 🙂

    We pitch the tent in the back yard and our kids spend most of the summer “camping” – My mom made us a teepee one year, it was so awesome I would love to do the same for mine – Maybe I will finally get a chance to this year.

    The heat can be awful… especially when the AC isn’t working!

  4. Mindi June 2, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    forget what my favorite things are….I’m completely jealous that you have blue hydrangeas! I’ve tried putting acid on mine, the “other thing” that gets them to change color (I forget what it is) and all I ever get are pink ones. I WANT BLUE!

    Alas, those are NOT my blue hydrangeas… they are stock photo from the internet. However, my FIL has some pretty blue-ish purple-y ones that are going to bloom soon at his house and CAN’T WAIT to steal some!

  5. morethananelectrician June 2, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    Fresh strawberries…nothing better!

    You said it!

  6. hsuree June 3, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    Hydrangeas!!! Yes!! they were my wedding flower of choice, but were out of season. Blue only though, never liked the pink.

    Mindi: Coffee makes them blue. And then purple when they’re in withdrawal. But you need to dump the grinds and old coffee on them before they start flowering.

    My response to your response to Goofy….WHAT A/C??!? The thing I MOST HATE about CA is that nobody around me has AC b/c of the “ocean breeze.” Yes, I am very bitter. Southern gals melt in heat, don’t ya’ll know? Home is where the AC is.

    To cope with the thick sticky GA humidity and heat, my fave summer things were Ice cold, sweeter-than-sweet tea, tubing on a lake, picking blueberries, and making ice cream. And AC churning full blast in every home, building, and car. Gotta have our AC.

    I know about the coast and lack of AC’s! Luckily I live a little inland and have one that works! But the last two summers we had blackouts and my poor little girl was sweating up a storm!

  7. curlywurlygurly June 6, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    WHERE ARE YOU HIDING?!?!?!

    Here I am! I have been helping my sister out by watching her FIVE kids the past couple days while her husband has been in the hospital! Clearly, no time to blog when you are taking care of seven kids. 🙂 Where is my Envirosax? If I get a choice, send me the most non-girly one you have so hubby can keep it in his car. I got my retro kitchen 5-pack last week and LOVE THEM!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

