GGR105

6 Jun

I had the pleasure of knowing my Great Grandma on my mom’s side.  She died in 2003 at the age of 105 1/2.   When she would write us letters, she would sign them GGR (Great Grandma Randall) and her age.  So, the last letter/card I got said GGR105.  Also, EVERY birthday, you could expect a card with $5 inside.  It didn’t matter that I was close to thirty years old, Grandma still sent me $5.  🙂  Every Christmas, she would buy socks and Avon earrings in bulk and you could expect to get a pair of either one.  LOL

My mom was going through my grandpa’s things the other day and came across a 15 page single space typed story of GGR’s life.  It starts with some of her first memories in 1904!  My mom brought the story over for me to scan in.  I haven’t had a chance to sit down and read it yet, though it is at the top of my list!  I want to make sure I have no interruptions so I can soak in all of this precious family history that Grandma Randall was wise enough to write down for us to read.

There she is in the middle of us back in 1984.  I’m the dark haired dork doing bunny ears on my brother.  Like my plastic shoes?

4 Responses to “GGR105”

  1. morethananelectrician June 6, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    That will have to an amazing experience to sit and read her story…from her own pen.

  2. looksgoodinpolkadots June 6, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    What wonderful memories of your GGR. That’s awesome! I would love love love to have a letter like that! Can’t wait to hear some of the fabulous/funny/interesting/sad stories it contains! Hope you share! 🙂 Oh and I do love the jelly shoes… I used to wear those. I saw them at Target recently and told my kids all about wearing them every summer growing up. We won’t be buying them for the girls… I also remember the blisters I got!

    -Jamie

  3. jesseybean June 6, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    She didnt happen to leave her cookie recipe in there did she? They were so good! And I must say that was the last time I looked good in a bathing suit. 😦
    Oh the ol gray mare she aint what she used to be!

    No, Bo, she sure isn’t! I miss the cookies too, but I think it may just be the Nestle Tollhouse cookie recipe on the back of the bag. Remember the episode of Friends where Monica is trying to re-create Phoebe’s grandma’s recipe and it was the Tollhouse cookie recipe?!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not just another project. « My Life in a Nutshell - July 27, 2008

    […] just another project. Remember this post?  Well, I got through Grandma’s life story and boy, is she a hoot.  I’ve decided to […]

Leave a Reply

