DMV

16 Jun

How exciting… I have to go to the DMV next Monday for my license renewal.  The last time I had to go in for a license renewal I was 20.  I’m REALLY looking forward to changing my weight…  and they thought I lied last time. 🙂  I contemplated going to my hairdresser first and having her make me pretty, but being as poor as I am, I can only think about being vain and rarely act out on it.

I was smart, however and booked an appointment.  It’s bad enough having to go in and deal with the incompetent workers, it’s even worse having to stand in 5 different lines with everyone around you speaking anything BUT English and their 8 kids in tow.  If you’ve ever been to a California DMV, you know what I’m talking about.

Maybe I’ll post the before and after photos so you can all get a good laugh in.

4 Responses to “DMV”

  1. curlywurlygurly June 16, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    oh stop. you haven’t lived until you’ve been to a new jersey dmv.

    while waiting for a new license, i’ve seen clean shaven men cultivate full, zz top like beards. that’s how long you wait in jersey.

    oh, and you had better bring EVERY piece of identification you own with you…and you’ll STILL suffer.

    good luck to you. pack provisions–you’ll need them.

    Provisions… yes… especially since I’ll be bringing the kiddos with me. Hopefully I won’t have to dedicate another post to my DMV experience.

  2. Pammy Girl June 17, 2008 at 7:03 am #

    You haven’t been to the DMV since you were 20? How is this possible? I loathe the DMV. I think they purposely hire the surliest people to ensure that you have a miserable experience. I moved to LA in January and I know I’m breaking the law, but I can’t quite force myself to get a California license because of this exact reason. But good to know I can set an appointment. Thanks!

    Sadly, I HAVE been there while trying to change my last name, but after standing in the lines, they told me I needed to bring an ORIGINAL marriage license, not a copy. Bastards. So, I figured I’d wait until I actually HAD to go in to change my last name. Luckily I’ve been able to do the whole mail in renewal thing, but I guess it’s been too long. Oh well.

  3. jesseybean June 17, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    Try going with 5 kids, and trying to take your picture with them. Yeah I look great in THAT picture. I asked if I could use my old picture- they looked at it and laughed (I was 18 in that one.) Damn.

    Hey, I haven’t seen your latest picture… show me!

  4. Honi Luv June 22, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    I too had to renew my license in April. I figured why not go into the DMV and not only renew it, but change my address and last name while I was at it. I was in for a nice surprise when I had to also take a picture(!!!!!) which I was not prepared for, having just rolled out of bed, and went bare faced and hair in a bun to my appt. I figured that since I was able to renew it through the mail I didn’t need to take a picture, they could just use the old one which is only 5 years old. geez…but no, I guess with the name change I had to take a picture which is THE WORST i.d. picture I have ever taken, that is including my Disneyland pass where I look like I have a huge gap in my two front teeth.
    Great…now 5 years from now I have to renew with the same picture…ewwwwww. 😦

    You must send me a copy! LOL

Leave a Reply

