Movies: My Generation

16 Jun

I keep seeing Patrick Dempsey all over the place.  I’ve never seen Grey’s Anatomy or Enchanted.  I know him as the guy from Can’t Buy Me Love.  And that made me think of all the posts Allison keeps writing about 80’s & 90’s stuff.  So, I am dedicating this post to her as I reminisce about the 80’s/90’s TV shows and movies that most people won’t remember or care about.

 Movies:  Stand by Me, Teen Wolf, Teen Wolf Too, Grease 2, Just One of the Guys, Better Off Dead, Teen Witch, The Boy Who Could Fly, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

TV Shows:    Romper Room.  Land of the Lost.  Sigmund and the Sea Monster. The Great Space Coaster.  Remember ‘Small Wonder’?  Wasn’t Vicki creepy?  How about Evie from ‘Out of this World’?  Charles in Charge – Buddy Lembec was way cuter than Charles.  Mr. Belvedere. 

TV Movie: Dance Til Dawn – with all of your favorite teen stars… including Matthew Perry!

 

What were your favorite movies as a teenager?  Is anyone else out there as nerdy as me?

11 Responses to “Movies: My Generation”

  1. curlywurlygurly June 16, 2008 at 8:01 pm #

    re: small wonder…harriet was WAAAAY more annoying than vicki…but i think the DAD was the most annoying of all.

    as for my favorite 80s movies…
    goonies, back to the future, license to drive, lost boys, dream a little dream (do you see a corey haim/feldman theme here?)…

    So true… I just wanted to punch the Harriett in the face and the dad & brother Jamie were just creepy.
    I forgot about Dream a Little Dream… loved that one too! I had the cassette soundtrack! Back to the Future & Goonies are some of my absolute favorites… I didn’t list any of my mainstream faves… that would be way too long a list!

  2. bluesuit12 June 17, 2008 at 7:09 am #

    Can’t Buy Me Love is a movie that I can watch over and over again. So is Better Off Dead. I love when John Cusak’s character says, “Gee, I’m really sorry your mom blew up, Ricky, guess she won’t be able to eat any spicy foods for awhile.” Kills me!

    I always liked ‘For dinner we’re having French Fries, French dressing, French bread and for dessert… PERU!’, ‘I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS’ and the whole Howard Cosell thing. 🙂

  3. 3kids2jobs1dog June 17, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    I must be a nerd as well because I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Can’t Buy Me Love and Just One of the Guys. How could you not mention Webster? I wanted my parents to adopt a black kid soooo bad!

    I did love Webster too! He was so much cuter than the Diffrent Strokes kids.

  4. morethananelectrician June 17, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    Despite Bluesuit beating me to the punch, the dinner table scene at Better of Dead is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. Not to mention the paperboy’s pursuit of his “TWO DOLLARS” on his bicycle. I actually cry from laughter whenever I see this movie. I had forgotten about it.

    Oh yes, we always say “I want my TWO DOLLARS”, then pause to comb our hair, then say “CASH!” He he!!

  5. looksgoodinpolkadots June 18, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    I love love love all things Grease. *sigh*. I was a big fan of Fresh Prince as well, oh, and 90210. Yikes. I will always love Goonies… after all it was filmed in Oregon. 🙂

    LOVELOVELOVE Goonies!! How excited were we to drive through Astoria last year and see the town and the rocks in the ocean.

  6. GoofyJ June 20, 2008 at 7:53 am #

    You mentioned some of our favs – Goonies, and Can’t Buy Me Love. The Princess Bride was made back in the 90s some time and that movie will always and forever be a favorite. I also love the Man from Snowy River movies.

    One movie I hated was Gremlins – my hubby liked it and recently bought it – I hate just as much as I ever did.

    We didn;t have a tv so we would watch at my grandma’s – we loved the shows like A-Team, Scarecrow and Mrs. King, Cover Up, Dukes of Hazard, Remington Steel, Night Rider. Oh, and remember Silver Spoons? I loved Charles in Charge – and Different strokes – my husband and I still quote from that one – and who can forget the Cosby Show? 🙂

    I hated Gremlins too. Yuck. Princess Bride is one of my faves. I can quote that movie like you wouldn’t believe. I LOVE the Cosby Show too!

  7. jesseybean June 21, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    From Silver Spoons: *in Valleygirl voice*: “Do it, and die” You know.

    I read the comment before I saw who wrote it, and almost died because I thought someone else was saying our quote! HEHEHEHE

  8. Alyson June 21, 2008 at 8:21 pm #

    OMG Romper Room. There was a derelict house at the end of my road, and when I was about 5 years old, my older cousin convinced me that RR was filmed there. So every day for weeks we would ride our bikes down there and she would tell me that, “they must’ve finished filming already today, and maybe we should come earlier tomorrow.”

    Nice! LOL… a derelict house!

  9. Allison June 24, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    My favorite line from Can’t Buy Me Love is when the blond’s boyfriend says something like, “Well, then that makes you a prostitute,” after she explains that she was paid to act like Ronald’s girlfriend. I don’t know why I liked that line so much.

    I learned the word ‘virgin’ from Grease 2. I called my dog one (not really understanding it) and my brother called me on it.

    I learned ‘climax’ from Dumbo! I must have repeated it and remember my mom all over me asking where I learned that word. LOL… I swear.. it WAS the little mouse from Dumbo!!

  10. Anonymous July 14, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    Too Funny Jennifer I think of those shows all the time!! Remember the Bugaloos? They were my favorite and so was that show with the teacher who looked inside the looking glass and called out all those names…. what was that one?????

    I don’t know the Bugaloos, but I think you’re talking about Romper Room. I see Jennifer and Lisa and Jessica and…

  11. Suzie July 16, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    Ya!!!! Romper Room!!!! I loved that!!

Leave a Reply

