The Girl Who Cries Wolf

24 Jun

Ever since Katie was about 6 months old, she has had this shrill scream.  Well it has turned into a scream for attention for the most minute things, such as not being able to reach something, or not getting something she wants and happens SEVERAL.TIMES.DAILY.  I have learned to tune it out, as I can’t come running everytime she can’t reach a darn crayon.  I knew at some point, she would actually BE hurt or something would be wrong and it’s not the crayon.  That day is today.

I was on the phone trying to do some business, and I heard her getting frustrated with the Swiffer.  She had been trying to help me clean the floor, and so I was letting her go to town.  The phone rang, and I was talking for about a minute when I heard her getting frustrated and yelling.  The yell, surprise, surprise, turned into THE SCREAM.  I let it go on as I was on the phone and just walked away, so I could actually hear the person on the other end.  The scream progressed longer than usual, so when I went to check on her, I see that her finger is caught in the hole at the swivel base of the Swiffer.  OOPS!  I got off the phone real quick, and got that little finger out of the hole.  Katie was now in hysterics.  I ran her finger under cold water then carried her to the couch to hug on her while she was sobbing.  Once the sobs dwindled down, I tried to explain the whole ‘crying wolf’ thing to her… that from now on, if she wants Mommy to come to her when she is hurt, she must save ‘the scream’ for those times only.

Who knows if she’ll actually understand.

3 Responses to “The Girl Who Cries Wolf”

  1. morethananelectrician June 24, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    They never learn. My 8 year old son learned it, but my 3 year old daughter…never!

    Girls!!!!!

  2. Krista Grothoff June 24, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    Ah, THE SCREAM. We know it well. Little Mr. T started that at about 6 months too (along with a really good whine), and boy, does it give me a headache some days 🙂
    It only gets worse.

  3. jesseybean June 24, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    Why does she scream like that? Hehe.
    Because she’s related to your kids.

Leave a Reply

