What I did on my summer vacation, by Jennifer.

8 Jul
Well, I’m back… and only 351 posts in my google reader! LOL.  We had a great time and I will try to write about each day at a later time, but here is the breakdown of our 9 day vacation.
Day 1: Drive to Gilroy, CA
Day 2: Gilroy Gardens (that’s me in a giant artichoke above!)
Day 3: Santa Cruz Boardwalk, train to redwoods – my birthday!
Day 4: Alcatraz and San Francisco
Day 5: Jelly Belly Factory tour, Old Town Sacramento and Train Museum
Day 6: Calaveras County: Angels Camp, Murphys (Mercer Caverns) and Columbia – old mining towns
Day 7: Volcano (mining town) Lake Tahoe – 4th of July!
Day 8: Lake Tahoe
Day 9: Drove home
Some days were great, but as Katie is 3, we had some rough times as well.  Grant travels wonderfully…. no issues with him at all.   I think he was just excited to have me sit in the backseat next to him.  We booked a few things online ahead of time and got better rates than if we had just shown up.  We even got 1/2 price coupons from our hotel to Gilroy Gardens which saved us quite a bit of money.  Andrew was recovering from a cold on the way up, but it turned into pharyngitis and he had to go to the emergency room.  Other than that, no problems along the way.  It was a great way to see some parts of California that we had never been to. 
8 Responses to “What I did on my summer vacation, by Jennifer.”

  1. jesseybean July 8, 2008 at 12:56 pm #

    Fun!! Too bad about Andrew. He ruins everything! LOL jk. Glad your back. Happy birthday.

    Thanks… BABABABAB You have to go to Calaveras County to see the jumping frogs. I think the festival is every May. They have a Frog Hop of Fame like the Hollywood Walk of Fame. 🙂

  2. morethananelectrician July 8, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    Nine days and only one trip to the emergency room…I have nightmares about being out of town and having an insurance issue trying to get help.

    Glad everyone is alright and that you all made it back in one piece.

    So far we haven’t dealt with insurance, but I won’t hold my breath. I JUST got the $0 balance letter from the ER we took my husband to over a year ago.

  3. GoofyJ July 8, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    That looks like so much fun! I can’t wait to read the details – so, did you make it back with the kids, or did they stay behind in Alcatraz 😉 hee hee – jk.

    When was your b-day? Happy be-lated! 🙂

    We all came back, though I was temped to leave you know who. My bday was June 30th… I’m the big 34 now!

  4. looksgoodinpolkadots July 8, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    Sounds like you all had a great time. Doing anything with a three year old is challenging! I’m still considering leaving ours home! (Kidding… I think.)
    You say you’re kidding, but it’s okay, I know the truth. LOL

  5. fightingwindmills July 9, 2008 at 3:25 am #

    Fun photos! I’m glad you had a great time. What was the train ride like?

    It was really neat. It was an hour up and an hour back from the beach to the forest. So beautiful!

  6. Grandma July 9, 2008 at 4:33 am #

    Love cousin IT! So are you the dip in the artichoke dip?
    Why yes I was! I wish that thing was filled with dip… I would have eaten it all. YUM!

  7. bluesuit12 July 9, 2008 at 6:12 am #

    Looks and sounds like you and your family had a lot of fun – minus the ER! I would love to go to Alcatraz someday.

    When you go, don’t take a 3 year old. Then you can actually go on the tour.

  8. curlywurlygurly July 9, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    i was missing your blog!!! glad you had a fun trip. i can’t imagine doing a road trip with kids, though. you and the hubster are brave.

    i’m green with envy that you went to the jelly belly tour–i wanted to do that last summer but we didn’t have time. 😦
    It was fun AND free! AND they give you free samples and a bag of mixed beans after the tour! I don’t think we’re brave as much as we are crazy. LOL Sounds like you’re having a good time too. Happy birthday early. 🙂

Leave a Reply

