Mom ticketed for spanking toddler

14 Jul

Has anyone else heard this ‘story’? 

http://cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/player/popup/?rn=3906861&cl=8809383&ch=4226713&src=news

This Mercedes woman sounds like an idiot to me.  Give it up… if my kid kept running towards a crowd and didn’t listen to me, then she’d get a swat on the butt too.  A ticket? Gimme a break.

7 Responses to “Mom ticketed for spanking toddler”

  1. morethananelectrician July 14, 2008 at 7:08 pm #

    Obviously we didn’t see this happen, but we really know what this is about…spanking.

    As far as handling the child, I am much less “cautious” with my third than I was with my first two.

    This is dangerous ground.

    That’s for sure!

  2. shynsweetlilme July 14, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    I can’t seem to get the video to play on this computer-but it does sound as though its another case of people being morons to me.

    I’m not saying people should beat their children-why would anyone say that? But a swat on the bum will help get through to them that they should stop whatever harmful behavior they are doing. I read once that they were saying putting a child in a corner was mental abuse.

    okay-so….don’t punish your kids, and then question why you can’t control them, and wonder why “todays youth” is so out of hand? Give me a freakin’ break.

    Mental abuse? What will they think of next?! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. looksgoodinpolkadots July 14, 2008 at 9:40 pm #

    Okay that’s whacked.
    So we can’t swat them for being naughty… and we get frowned on if we let them run wile. What the heck….

    I bet if she goes to court over that ticket the judge will throw it out… how ridiculous.

    Stop on over to enter to win a fabulous back to school package!

    It’s crazy… dammed if you do, dammed if you don’t. I’ll check out your contest. 🙂

    Hope you are feeling better!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  4. GoofyJ July 15, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    Good Grief! That was my opinion – Besides it’s not like the kid didn’t have a diaper on – oooh, a swat on the diapered bum is going to do a lot of injury. Anyway, shynsweetlilme hit the nail right on the head in my opinion.

    My thoughts EXACTLY!

  5. missy July 15, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    That is exactly right….darned if you do, darned if you don’t. The only way to win anymore is to medicate all the kids, making it even harder for the ones who actually NEED the meds to be taken seriously. Sigh.

    While there are times I wouldn’t mind MY kid being medicated, I TOTALLY hear you sister!

  6. jesseybean July 15, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    If that lady gets a ticket for spanking her kid for trying to run in the street durring the parade, I may be stuck in jail, since I spanked one or more of the kids for running in the street! God forbid the kids get punished for doing wrong. Maybe we should lecture the 2 yo about who what where why and how they could be hurt. That will go over REAL well. *rolls eyes*

    Can you imagine Julie trying to ‘explain’ to RJ why he shouldn’t run into the street?

  7. Black Coffee & Bourbon July 19, 2008 at 7:32 pm #

    That is ridiculous! Parents should be able to discipline their children as they see fit (within reason). I think the world would be a better place today is parents gave their kids a swat from time to time. 🙂

    So true!

Leave a Reply

