Not just another project.

27 Jul

Remember this post?  Well, I got through Grandma’s life story and boy, is she a hoot.  I’ve decided to type it up myself and make a book through Blurb.  I have asked my Great-Aunt and Great-Uncle to send me any photos they had growing up with GGR.  I have received some already and scanned them in, but still want more for my book.  There were some great shots like this one:

She was 18 in 1915!
She was 18 in 1915!

and this one:

Up in a tree with a friend at 14 years old. (1912)
Up in a tree with a friend at 14 years old. (1912)

This will be a lengthly process as some of these photos need repairing, and I don’t really know what I’m doing.  But I am looking forward to this project!  When I’m finished, I can put it up on Blurb for the family to purchase – that way I don’t have to take orders from long lost relatives that I never see or talk to, but at least they will have the option. 

9 Responses to “Not just another project.”

  1. looksgoodinpolkadots July 27, 2008 at 12:36 pm #

    Okay… that’s AWESOME. Can’t wait to see more tidbits!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

    I know! I will have to put some of her story on here once I start transcribing it.

  2. morethananelectrician July 27, 2008 at 7:19 pm #

    I love the candid “on the phone” picture!

    That one cracks me up!

  3. curlywurlygurly July 28, 2008 at 5:11 am #

    wow! that’s so cool that you actually have candid shots like those. most of our pictures from my grandparents’ childhoods are more of the formal posed type. good luck with the book! 🙂

    I think there are more candids out there, it’s just a matter of getting them from the right people. For some reason my grandpa didn’t have any of these pix – probably because GGR went to live with her daughter, and now she has all of the originals.

  4. bluesuit12 July 28, 2008 at 7:00 am #

    I’m excited to read/see more about your GGR. I love these kinds of projects.

    I promise to post more!

  5. missy July 28, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    These are unbelievably cool. Seriously! I wish I had old pics like this of my grandparents. Can’t wait to see more!

    I totally lucked out with this whole project! To have a hand-typed account of her life from 1897-1979 when she was 82 is amazing enough, nevermind she lived another 20+ years after that!

  6. mariah July 29, 2008 at 8:21 am #

    what great pictures! i loved the first three. those are like the glamour shots of 1915 an the telephone is what the feather boa was in the 80s. 😉

    I never thought of it like that, but you’re right!

  7. fightingwindmills July 29, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    Beautiful photos! It’s been said before, but I love the one with the telephone. At first I thought she was applying blush. lol.

  8. jesseybean August 7, 2008 at 6:47 pm #

    I like her pose with that new-fangled contraption- the telephone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grandma’s book « My Life in a Nutshell - January 8, 2009

    […] I’m seriously starting on this project now… my Great Aunt sent me tons of pictures and I began scanning them last […]

Leave a Reply

