I felt the earth move under my feet!

29 Jul

Ah, living in California.  We just had a 5.8 earthquake about 10 miles from my house.  Scared the crap out of me… haven’t felt one in awhile.  I grabbed baby out of the playpen then ran to get Katie from her room.  She just kept saying ‘I’m sorry Mommy!’.  LOL.

Just a few things fell, which has never happened to me that I know of.  A few picture frames and several books.  Only one casualty… a large picture frame from Walmart, so it can definitely be replaced.

Have you ever experienced an earthquake?

10 Responses to “I felt the earth move under my feet!”

  1. fightingwindmills July 29, 2008 at 11:34 am #

    I felt a really small one in Lima, Peru. I lived in Japan for 3 years and “the big one” was supposed to happen in Shizuoka Prefecture where I was living. But, it didn’t happen while I was there. It’s still predicted to happen within the next few years right there where all our friends and relatives live.

    I’m so glad you guys are okay.

    I was in 8th grade and homeroom had just started when a big one hit. Freaked us kids out! But seriously, growing up in So. Cal, you really get used to them, but they are so unexpected. I’d take an earthquake over a tornado or hurricane ANY day!

  2. loomisnews July 29, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    Why is the press hiding the truth, though?

    “Obama caused LA Earthquake”
    — latest PR from McSame campaign

    😉

  3. mariah July 29, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    1979, 6.6
    i was about 8 years old. scared the $%#@ out of me. we spent the first couple of nights camping outside in the backyard just in case since there were many aftershocks. half the pool water sloshed out and even made it to the back door. i refused to go back in the house. my mom rolled out a tv and i watched the only 3 channels we got. it was close to a week before i would spend any time inside. to this day earthquakes scare me. i’m not good with them AT ALL!

    What state was that earthquake in?

  4. mariah July 29, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    oh and glad you all are ok!
    Thanks girl.

  5. looksgoodinpolkadots July 29, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    1993… 5 point something… Oregon. Peeps were wearing “I Survived The Spring Break Quake” for months afterward.

    My sister woke up yelling, “I have the wrong forehead”

    I thought Dad was trying to get us up by shaking my bed frame… I had an antique metal frame that you could really shake.

    Dad thought our furnace had blown, he woke up to the sonic boom and ran toward the garage to check before the shaking even started.

    A few things fell down, our microwave “walked” on its stand and almost fell off… no major damage in our house… but there was damage to historical buildings, churches, the capital, etc…

    Glad you guys are okay! It’s a nerve wracking experience!

    “I have the wrong forehead”??? LOL

  6. curlywurlygurly July 29, 2008 at 7:09 pm #

    geez…earth moving=bad where i come from. i have absolutely no frame of reference, unless you count ‘earthquake’ the universal studios ride

    you should move to jersey…weather can’t break picture frames here. 😀 glad you’re all okay.

    Well the Universal Studios ride may be realistic, but the thing is, when you’re there, you KNOW it’s going to shake.

    My scenario was: sitting down on your couch after cleaning up the floor where your daughter peed in her pants and trying to relax for a moment, and then you feel a sudden jolt and hear a big noise and then it just continues while you jump up, grab the baby out of the playpen, try to run down the hall to get your other kid, while the house is moving, and try not to slip and fall on the wet floor you just mopped.

  7. bluesuit12 July 30, 2008 at 6:22 am #

    I was in a couple when I was living in Guatemala. I took it all pretty much in stride but the neighbors were a little frantic.

  8. mariah July 30, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    the earthquake was in california. specifically imperial valley, southeastern california near the arizona border.

  9. LisaH July 30, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh man, this is the first CA earthquake I have missed since moving. I am so bummed! ha ha

    Here’s a funny. When we moved here I heard a rumble and then felt a quick jolt. I went into earthquake mode before I realized I was not in CA anymore. Didn’t know what it was though.

    Happened again a few days later.

    Then I was at my kid’s bus stop and another mom was saying something about the quarry and she asked if I had felt the dynamite blasts yet. Nice! I had no idea we moved near a quarry! Ugh.

    I told her that I had felt them and I wondered how long it would be before I stopped going under a desk every time I heard and felt them. She looked at me like I was crazy. I told her I’m from California where we hide under furniture when our houses shake. She still thinks I’m crazy….

    I was in Home Economics class for the one in 8th grade. The cabinet opened and a sewing machine fell off the shelf. Fun times! I remember a ton of parents came to pick up kids but I had to stay the rest of the day. 😦 Did you get to go home?

    He he… dy-no-MYTE! I was in math class for the 8th grade one. Didn’t go home either… I seem to remember us in drama later that day telling stories about what happened that morning. Good times, good times. 🙂

  10. lisamm August 5, 2008 at 4:29 pm #

    Hello neighbor, Yes, I’ve been in a few, including this one!

    My first “big” one was Whittier in 1987.. after that there was Northridge and Landers. Scary stuff.

Leave a Reply

