Mo Money, Mo Money, Mo Money!

29 Jul

When you’re poor like me, you find any way to get some money.  I’ve spent the better part of this morning filling out rebate forms that I never got around to.  This should bring in a $30 for a tool the hubby bought a few months ago, a $10 gas card (for getting my oil changed at Jiffy Lube) and $68 in unclaimed property (from my old auto insurance).  I had heard on the news last year about the unclaimed property thing and just forgot about it after the baby/move/etc.  But it is MUCH needed now and glad I can tap into it!

Here is a link for the California site for unclaimed property.  To look up a different state, do a search for your state’s controller and UCP or Unclaimed Property.  Good luck!!

Also, if you have an unforgotten rebate, call the company.  Ours was in Iowa, and even though the rebate period ended over a month ago, the rep was nice enough to resend me a form and give me an address & contact person to send it to.

2 Responses to “Mo Money, Mo Money, Mo Money!”

  1. morethananelectrician July 29, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    We manage to go through a couple of rebates a week. My wife goes through the Sunday paper for the “free-after-rebate” stuff and collects it to sell at various yard sales. We clear a couple of hundred a year this way.

    Ooh, that’s a good idea!

  2. looksgoodinpolkadots July 29, 2008 at 6:38 pm #

    Mr. MTAE… That is a great idea. I’m just sooooo BAD at rebates. I should work on that.

    Glad you found a way to bring in a little extra cash! You can always have a garage sale as well… or start selling stuff on eBay. My Sis did that for a while and make a decent amount. She would sell stuff for other people (charging fees of course!).

    Cheers!
    Jamie

    We’re all about garage sales and ebay. I am a super stamper & scrapbooker and have SO many supplies that I’ve bought over the last 10 years and have started to liquidate some of the older things that aren’t my style anymore.

Leave a Reply

