A week of firsts.

5 Aug

Our past week was filled with some new experiences. 

  • Katie got her first ice cream off of an ice cream truck!  I remember the ol’ ice cream truck coming around our neighborhood growing up, so as soon as I heard the song, I ran in and got her (and Andrew to take pictures, of course.)  Who knew 4 ice creams would cost $7.00.  Yikes!  I think we’ll be sticking to our store-bought treats from now on.
  • The circus was in town and we got some of the cheapie nosebleed tickets.  There was a preshow where we were able to go down to the floor and see some of the acts up close and even take pictures with the performers.  During the elephant show, one started pooping, then it set off a chain reaction.  Next thing you know, EVERY SINGLE elephant was doing it’s thing, and there were people out there with shovels during the whole act.  The audience was howling.  Way too funny.
  • Katie started her swimming lessons yesterday.  One down, 8 to go.  She really enjoyed it, and didn’t want to leave.  We go back today for class #2.
Yes, that is my big butt, and yes, I got an ice cream too.

Yes, that is my big butt, and yes, I got an ice cream too.

Checking out the elephants.
Checking out the elephants.
Swimming Lessons!
Swimming Lessons!

On an unhappy note, we helped my mom get my grandpa’s house ready for an estate sale.  The good news: we were able to clear out and sell many items.  The bad news: there’s still a lot more to do.  Wish us luck.

5 Responses to “A week of firsts.”

  1. bluesuit12 August 5, 2008 at 6:06 am #

    Sounds like a fun week. I remember the ice cream truck and wish it would drive through my complex sometime!

    This truck came down my grandpa’s street. God forbid any come through at our mobile home park… all of the old biddys would call in and complain that the music is too loud. Grrr.

  2. curlywurlygurly August 5, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    wow! your ice cream truck is fancy! ours doesn’t have any decorations–just annoying music. 🙂

    as for swimming lessons–good for katie girl! who’s teaching those lessons-pamela anderson?!?!

    good luck with the cleanup…those types of things are always difficult.

    There are a bunch of teenage kids giving the lessons through the city. I imagine they are the local high school/college swim group – and of course are all cute. 🙂

  3. looksgoodinpolkadots August 5, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    We almost did the ice cream truck thing… Those prices are whack!!!!

    Swim lessons… How fun!

    Estate sale business… Not so fun good luck with all that!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

    We made the mistake of not asking and just ordering. Oh well.

  4. morethananelectrician August 5, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    Hmmm! I remember those Choco Tacos!

    Yeah, the hubby picked those out and I didn’t like them one bit. I’m glad I got my favorite standby: The Ice Cream Sandwich. Yum

  5. missy August 5, 2008 at 1:10 pm #

    Do you know that stinking ice cream truck comes through our neighborhood two or three times a day sometimes?!? Dude, I have ENOUGH temptation already, thank you very much.

    By the way, your comment under your pic had me rolling. That is SO something I would say!

    He he. I figured I’d say it before somebody else did.

Leave a Reply

