FRESH and easy?

24 Oct

Last week (Wednesday), we bought a pumpkin from Fresh and Easy.  It is a new store out where I live and since they are building one right around the corner from my house, I thought I’d try one of the other locations and see how I liked it.  It was REALLY nice inside and the prices seemed pretty good.  The pumpkins were only $3 for any size, so we got a medium/large one and set off to Grandpa’s house to carve it.  This is what we came up with…

BEFORE

BEFORE

On Monday we went back to Grandpa’s house and this is what we found…

Same pumpkin 5 days later
AFTER: Same pumpkin 5 days later

I have no idea what happened.  As a child, we carved pumpkins and they lasted for weeks.  If they did start to deteriorate, it was just a softening, but NEVER have I seen the pumpkin turn black and deflate! 

You bet your sweet bippy we went back to the store and showed them the photo and got my $3 back.  Didn’t give me much confidence in a store with a name such as theirs.  I will say the manager was very nice and suggested we send a comment to their corporate website, which is on my to do list.  I’ll probably still shop there once my location opens, but I might be a little leary about the fruits and veggies. 😉
9 Responses to “FRESH and easy?”

  1. goodbadandugly2 October 24, 2008 at 7:26 am #

    WOW, we just got a fresh and easy by us and I never saw something like that! That is crazy!

  2. curlywurlygurly October 24, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    you should submit the evil, black, moldy one to my carving contest!

  3. missy October 24, 2008 at 8:51 am #

    Well, you’ve got to admit, it IS scary!!

  4. fightingwindmills October 24, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    Gross! Maybe it would have fared better outside in the cold. Perhaps being inside made it more susceptible to deterioration.

    I don’t know… we’ve always had ours inside and I’ve never seen anything like it before! It was so black and nasty. Who knows?!

  5. looksgoodinpolkadots October 24, 2008 at 2:17 pm #

    Wowsa… ours are starting to soften and get moldy because we are having warmer than normal Autumn weather… but nothing like that!

    Ick.

  6. GoofyJ October 26, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    eeeewwwww – even in Oregon I haven’t seen a pumpkin do that in such a short time

  7. LisaH October 27, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    Oh my gosh, that is SO FUNNY!! I think it was totally worth the $3 for comedic value! I’m glad you got your money back though. Now I am trying to imagine you at the store showing the picture to the manager. I would be laughing so hard if I did that!

    Normally, I’d just make an exchange on something that didn’t work for me, but under the circumstances, I didn’t think getting another pumpkin from them was a good idea. 😉

  8. Nevis October 30, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    WOW! That is crazy and the pumpkin must have had some sort of fungus or something when you got it. Crazy. And definatly not “Fresh and Easy”.

  9. Honi Luv October 31, 2008 at 8:36 am #

    that is so darn funny…maybe the pumpkin came with it’s own halloween costume that it decided to wear that day. LOL.
    I shop at Fresh and Easy too, they really do have good prices but if you notice just about everything comes with a use by date to keep it at its freshest. They really do mean you should use things by that date. This store is good for those of us, like me, that don’t do a lot of cooking but like to cook a meal once or twice a week, cuz things are ‘fresh and easy’ to make. haha…. I do wonder about regular grocery stores now and wonder why things don’t go ‘bad’ as quickly. hmm…..

Leave a Reply

