Oh Christmas Tree…

29 Nov

november-20083

We put up our tree a few days ago… though I prefer a real one, we can’t afford one (AND I get all rashy if I touch a real one!)  We got this one 90% off at Target’s after Christmas clearance last year.  Whoo hoo! 

I didn’t buy one thing yesterday… not even from online.  This year’s Christmas will be slim pickings for us, but the kids will certainly not be at a loss for anything with all of the Grandparents around!  (Can you say Disney pass?) I’ll hit a few sales, but will mostly be making things this year.  A few years ago I posted about the fudge recipe I’ve been making for Christmas… it’s so easy!

Did any of you hit any sales yesterday?  What did you get?  Also did you hear about the poor WalMart worker who got trampled by the crowds and died as he tried to open the doors yesterday morning?  Despicable and very very sad.

4 Responses to “Oh Christmas Tree…”

  1. morethananelectrician November 30, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    We have hid in the house for days.

    I grew up with real trees in Michigan, but have grown accustomed to the artificial trees now. I don’t run around hugging trees, but it does seem a little silly to cut one down and throw it on the street 30 days later to be picked up by the garbage men.

    What wonderful pictures…you are getting ready to go anytime now…we had ours right after Christmas last year.

  2. curlywurlygurly December 1, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    love your new header and the pictures of the kids and tree. it’s a bit of a joke at our house to ‘wear’ the tree skirt too. one year, my mom and i made my aunt wear it and POSE in front of the tree–we made her sit down and then fluffed out the skirt…

    then we took a picture and made it a joke christmas card that we sent to the whole family. (she was pushing 50 and not amused…but we all died laughing.)

    That is funny. When I was taking off the tags, my daughter happened to be right there, so of course I had to put it on her!

  3. Connie December 2, 2008 at 7:54 am #

    In for a visit from The Daily Dish…your family is lovely. I think Christmas on a budget is more imaginative…I love a thoughtful “homemade” gift more than anything else! I never shop with the crowds and as to people being injured and even killed…I simply don’t understand what anyone needs that badly!

    Thanks for visiting! I love receiving handmade gifts too. I am a scrapbooker and give gifts to my friends and family and have yet to make one of my own kids. My mom surprised me last week by giving me an album from the Halloween pictures I sent her. I loved it! 🙂

  4. GoofyJ December 21, 2008 at 7:53 pm #

    I Love your header and all the pictures! You have such a beautiful family! I hope you have a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

