Sew what?

19 May

I am so done with scrapbooking & stamping!  I’ve been doing it for over ten years and have SO MUCH STUFF!  Over the last two years I’ve been paring down my collection and still have a lot.  I just gave some away to my mom and a friend, and will get more out on Ebay or Craigslist. 

My new hobby?? Sewing!  Last time I used a sewing machine was in 7th grade home ec, so I am looking forward to learning something new.  My mom has an old (80s) machine that she is going to give me this week.  I also signed up for some classes at Joann’s for next month.  Yesterday, while running errands, I stopped by there and spent two whole hours (I only had the baby with me, so I was virtually uninterrupted) just looking at the materials.  FUN!  My first class project will be a pillowcase.  I found some cute fabric and will make this for Katie.  I’ll post a picture when I complete the project.  🙂

I’m looking forward to making things for the kids, and also for my husband’s magic endeavors.  I downloaded this darling pattern off of etsy to make dresses for the girls.  What do you think??

 Caroline Dress PDF Pattern Tutorial - Frog Legs and Ponytails Boutique Pattern - Includes 9 Sizes plus Doll Pattern

7 Responses to “Sew what?”

  1. Mary Ann May 23, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    How exciting! You will love sewing — my mom taught me when I was about 7 or 8, and I made most of my own clothes thru high school.

    After making the curtains for the Somis house, I ran out of time, so I haven’t done much since then and am so jealous of you — hopefully I can get back to my favorite hobby, after I’m done with school next year.

    The dress pattern you picked is perfect — not too difficult to take on when starting out, and REALLY cute. Katie will love it.

    Good luck.

  2. BookMama May 25, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    I love sewing too, though I tend to go in spurts due to lack of time/energy. I’m just about to start a new spurt (as in, I’m about to head up to my sewing corner to make LS some shorts) and am looking forward to it.

    I will say that one of the best sewing-related things I did was to replace the older (1980s) hand-me-down Kenmore machine I had with a not-quite-bottom-of-the-line new Kenmore. The difference was incredible, and I’m still using it 10+ years later. Sears has good sales on sewing machines quite regularly.

    This one is very similar to the one I have – I bet it would be exactly what you need, and it’s rated quite highly: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_02015343000P?keyword=kenmore+sewing+machine

    OOh, I’d love a new sewing machine, but for now, I’ll practice on the old one. That is a good sale price… I’d be tempted if I had a little money stashed away.

  3. BookMama May 25, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    Oh, and for patterns – go to Joann.com and sign up for their sales flyer. They often have patterns on sale cheap – right now they have Simplicity patterns 5/$5. (These great sales explain why I have two boxes of patterns I’ve never used, though, LOL.)

    LOL… that’s how I was with Stamping/Scrapbooking stuff. I’d see thing I liked and just HAD to have, and I’d buy it all!

  4. looksgoodinpolkadots May 25, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    Darling!!!! I love to sew, scrapbook and just about every other artsy endeavor… however I’ve never investing in stamping although I’ve always wanted to tackle it as well… my “craft” room in our new house is currently a room full of crap with zero organization and definitely no working space!!! Oh… and my sewing machine stopped working while hubs was on his last trip to Asia… and we haven’t fixed it yet! Bleh!.

  5. GoofyJ June 3, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Cute dress 😀 I enjoy sewing too – but it seems I have little time to do it 😀 Enjoy you’re new hobby!

  6. thedailydish June 4, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Best of luck!! Sewing is soooo much fun. And Gorgeous dress BTW – LOOVE the print. Best of luck Jen!!

  7. GoofyJ July 6, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Hey! It’s been a while I hope your summer is going well and you are having fun sewing – among other things 🙂

Leave a Reply

