Savin’ some dough at the CVS

12 Mar

My girl Mindi wrote about how she’s paying next to nothing down at the CVS, so I thought I’d try my hand at it.  I just got $76.46 worth of crap stuff for $26.76.

How you ask?

  • I transferred a prescription to their pharmacy and they gave me a $25 gift card.
  • I went online and registered my CVS ExtraCare Cars and got a coupon for $4.00 off my $20 purchase.
  • I bought several items on sale in conjunction with some coupons I had (sale savings=$15.70, coupon savings=$9.00)

ALSO, because I bought two toothbrushes for $4.99 each using their Extra Buck Offer, they gave me the money I paid back in the form of an in-store coupon (EXTRA BUCKS) which makes them FREE!

AND, they have an offer if you buy 3 greeting cards, you get a stuffed bunny rabbit for FREE!

This was my first go at this, and I bought some items that weren’t on sale because I needed them (but had I NOT bought those items, my total would have been about $4.) Now next time I go, I have $9.98 towards my purchase.

So there you go.  Apparently Rite Aid and Walgreens have the same type of deals, and how conevenient for me, there are all three stores on opposite corners near my house!

5 Responses to “Savin’ some dough at the CVS”

  1. missy March 12, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! I hope you’ll be back again soon.

    I hadn’t heard of all these deals at those drugstores! I never shop at them….guess its time to start, huh? 🙂

  2. morethananelectrician March 12, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    Things like this are how we survive financially. My wife is always stuffing coupons in my pocket and transferring prescriptions from one place to another.

  3. hsuree March 12, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    Welcome to the CVS club! Because of CVS, I haven’t paid for toothbrush, toothpaste, shower gel, makeup, shampoo, conditioner, razors, mouthwash, and all kinds of kid and adult cold medicines in two years, and I’m set for probably the next 5. 🙂 Of course, I need a whole closet to store it all, hehee. I actually thought of starting up a page on my blog on what I do every month, but didn’t think there would be enough interest. Maybe I should!!

  4. curlywurlygurly March 13, 2008 at 3:45 am #

    you crazy bargain hunter!

  5. Mindi March 13, 2008 at 5:10 am #

    Hey Jenefur! Great job!
    I’m running out the door to a PTA meeting, but when I get back, I already have a blog post in my head on how you can now take tose $10 in ECBs and turn it in to at least $40 in product without paying a dime out-of-pocket. I’ll get it up (as part of my “explanation post”) this afternoon!

Leave a comment